Why I Love Frankincense

Whenever I hear the word “Frankincense,” I think of of the story of the birth of Jesus and how the Wise Men brought Gold, Frankincense, and Myrrh.

I recently found out that Frankincense is also a wonderfully useful essential oil. My cousin says, “When in doubt, get the Frankincense out.” Over the past few months I have found this to be true. When I over did it playing basketball and made my right knee angry, I rubbed Frankincense on it to help with swelling and it worked wonders! I also used Deep Blue to help with the pain, but the Frankincense is what took the swelling down and allowed my knee to work again! I’ve also been using Frankincense on my face, along with Melaleuca, for blemishes.

Just this past week I’ve been rubbing Frankincense on Luke’s neck after his tonsillectomy. His uvula and throat were still very swollen a week after surgery. The doctor suggested we could try Prednisone (a steroid) if we wanted to, to decrease swelling faster. However, Luke didn’t want to take more meds than necessary (and the doc said it was optional). Instead of going with the Prednisone, we went with good ol’ Frank instead. The other oil we’ve used a few times this past week is DigestZen. A couple times when Luke was feeling super nauseated, I grabbed the DigestZen to help keep him from puking.

Frankincense has been shown to help support our bodies in many ways! I love reading about all of them! In fact, I really wish I knew about essential oils years ago. It’s been kinda fun to discover my hippie side of late. I’ve slowly been trying to eliminate more synthetics and chemicals out of my daily life, including my shampoo and conditioner, face wash and makeup. Next I hope will be soaps and lotions, but haven’t quite gotten there, yet. Until I turn into a full fledged hippie with flowers in my hair and no deodorant (haha, not!), I’m happy to have found doTERRA essential oils. I’m also happy that whenever I’m in doubt, Frank and I can hang out. Wait, isn’t that how the saying goes?

Frankincense-Uses

Edit: Here is a link to another blog on Frankincense. This includes a testimony on how Frankincense has anti-cancer properties!!! I have also heard it helps with depression, vertigo… the list goes on and on!

Leave a Reply

