Lemon, Lavender, and Peppermint

I love trying new things.

My goal in life is to make everything the best that it can be. I also feel like all we can do is our best with the information and resources that we have. Being a wife, a nurse, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, I love looking for the best/healthiest way to do life. And let me tell you, I am loving my latest find!

 

I started using doTERRA essential oils a few months ago, and am having a blast with them! I thought I’d share a few of my latest experiments with Essential Oils… just because I love them so much! Today I’m going to start with some of the foundational oils, Lemon, Lavender, and Peppermint.
Lemon:
My favorite use for lemon has been to put a little drop of it in my water for wonderfully flavored lemon water! I have also used it mixed with water and sprayed on the counter for a chemical free disinfectant. ***Edit*** I definitely don’t recommend ALL essential oils should be consumed. Lemon is one that doTERRA states is safe for consumption. It is considered to be a therapeutic grade oil, and is good for cleansing. For an informative site on this click here.

 

Lavender_15ml-225x300
Lavender:
The other day I got too close to the oven and got a small burn on my knee. Pretty sure the outside of the oven shouldn’t be THAT hot. I quickly ran to my oil kit and grabbed Lavender, (after googling which essential oil is best for burns, of course). I applied a drop to my knee and voila! Instant relief. Lavender Essential Oil is great for many things! Some use it to help sleep, some use it for allergies, insect bites, aromatherapy, etc.

 

Peppermint_15ml-225x300
Peppermint:
I am diffusing this one right now. It offers a peppy (pun intended) scent that helps boost my mood. I have it in a roller blend called a tension blend, that rubbed on the back of my neck can stop a headache in its tracks. Peppermint is also a natural disinfectant, though I haven’t cleaned with it yet.

 

I am excited to continue using these oils and discovering more uses for them!

 

4 thoughts on “Lemon, Lavender, and Peppermint

  1. Pleeeease don’t drink them in your water. They’re too potent and can damage your mucus membrane badly. Diluted topical or diffuser use is awesome! http://www.thebarefootdragonfly.com/friends-dont-let-friends-drink-essential-oils/
    http://empoweredsustenance.com/ingesting-essential-oils/
    There is an AWESOME Facebook group called Using Essential Oils safely that I highly recommend. Excellent info about every type of oil from trained aromatherapists. Check it out. 😉 https://www.facebook.com/groups/usingEOsafely/

    Like

    • Sara- Thanks so much for your comment! I know a lot of people who don’t like to ingest essential oils, and if that’s your stance, then that’s great! I don’t deny that there could be possible negatives to ingesting EOs. However, some of the arguments made against ingestion in those articles state that one wouldn’t want to drink 30 cups of chamomile tea in a day (which they equated to 1 drop of EO). I don’t normally drink 30 cups of chamomile tea in a day, but I’m not sure it would hurt me. Also, I feel like drinking 8-12 ounces of water is good for me, and 1 drop of lemon oil is much better than 12 ounces of a soda or energy drink.

      Also, I know that the blogs you linked mentioned doTERRA specifically, but there are several EO companies that will stand behind their EOs, stating they are safe for ingestion. doTERRA oils uses outside testing from a third party to check their oils to make sure they are the therapeutic level they claim. These oils go through much more rigorous testing than oils that are meant to be used solely for aromatherapy. On a personal note, I know many people who have taken EOs orally for years without the issues (sensitization, irritating the mucous membrane, digestive issues) that these blogs mentioned.

      I doubt I’m going to sway you over to my side of things 🙂 And you are most definitely entitled to your opinion! However, I personally believe that therapeutic grade oils are different than oils used only for aromatherapy, and at this point I’m alright with drinking them in my water 🙂

      Like

  2. Love your post!! I’ve heard peppermint can also be good for burns and I didn’t know about the disinfecting! Those three oils combined are my go to for allergies! And peppermint and lavender for my headaches.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hunter – I really want to know what your headache mixture is! The one I have is great for tension headaches, but I need something else for other types of headaches. I keep forgetting to ask you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

