Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork

I’m always looking for new crockpot recipes. As a new(er) wife, I am learning how to be creative in the kitchen, and the crockpot has so far been my best friend. When I’m home during the day, I’ll throw in a few ingredients for chicken tortilla soup, but I haven’t been able to branch out a lot. Part of the reason is that when I’m gone to work, I’m gone for 13 hours (plus more some days), and not everything can be cooked that long.

Luke found a recipe for Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork, and mentioned we should try it sometime. It looked perfect to me, as it’s supposed to cook for 10-12 hours. That’s a recipe that I could put in the crockpot and leave!

It was quite the adventure to go find a pork loin at Dillons, as I hadn’t ever bought pork before. Then, when I got ready to make the recipe, I realized I didn’t have any sort of official “rub” to put on it. I ended up just using garlic salt, creole seasoning, and a few other random spices from my cupboard. I was able to prepare the whole thing in about 5 minutes before I left for work in the morning. Just placed the pork in the crockpot, threw on the spices, and poured the Dr. Pepper over it. When I got home that evening, I (easily!!) separated the pork, mixed it with bbq sauce, and voila, dinner! We only made a 2# pork loin, and it has now served for 2 meals, and plenty left over for another. I will definitely be making it again in the future!

IMG_6712

Leave a Reply

